NFL Award Winners Through 10 Weeks

Now that the current NFL regular season is more than halfway complete, it’s time to start looking at players that are currently competing for awards.  Although there is a lot of time for these rankings to wind up being completely different as the season progresses, there is now a large enough sample size to have an idea of who the finalists will be among each respective award.



Finalists: Tom Brady, Russell Wilson, Carson Wentz, Alex Smith


Winner: Carson Wentz

I was heavily criticized in August when I wrote an article about why I believed Wentz had a better shot to win MVP than people were giving him credit for.  Although he’s far from a lock to win the award come February, he keeps improving and showing why he deserves to win.  He’s currently leading the Philadelphia Eagles to a league best 8-1 record, while throwing for a whopping 23 Touchdowns, leading the NFL by 4.  With Wentz at the helm, the Eagles high-powered offense has scored 26 points in all but one game this season, and he has only had to throw the ball an average 29 times per game since the Eagles week 2 loss against the Chiefs.



Finalists:  Calais Campbell, Marshon Lattimore, Jalen Ramsey


Winner:  Marshon Lattimore

Being a rookie drafted in the first round out of Ohio State, Marshon Lattimore entered this season with high expectations.  Having such high expectations, it’s very easy for a players’ rookie year to be seen as underwhelming.  Fortunately for the Saints, that hasn’t been the case; in fact, it’s been the complete opposite.  Lattimore almost individually transformed the Saints D from the laughingstock of the NFL into a unit that other teams now fear.  Over the last 5 weeks, he has allowed just a 10.1 passer rating to opposing Quarterbacks, which is more than two times better than the 2nd best corner in that span.  After shutting down just about every receiver he’s faced so far this season, Marshon Lattimore is absolutely the Defensive Player of the Year.



Candidates:  Carson Wentz, Tom Brady, Le’Veon Bell


Winner:  Tom Brady

Tom Brady winning an NFL award?  What else is new?  Although Carson Wentz has been the most valuable player so far, Brady has been putting up the better box score stats in just about everything besides TD’s.  Brady currently leads the NFL in passing yards by almost 300, while throwing for the third best yards per attempt (not including Deshaun Watson).  Although it would not be a surprise to see Tom Brady winning the MVP award, he seems to be better fit to be the Offensive Player of the Year.



Finalists:  Kareem Hunt, Leonard Fournette, Alvin Kamara


Winner:  Kareem Hunt

Although Kareem Hunt has been fantastic overall this season, he has started slumping over the last month or so.  In his last 4 games, Hunt has yet to surpass 87 yards on the ground, after running for over 100 in 4 of his first 5 games in the NFL.  Amazingly, he leads all NFL RB’s in missed tackles forced (PFF) with a healthy lead of 21 over Le’Veon Bell.  For now, Kareem Hunt is the NFL’s Offensive Rookie of the Year, though this position could very well be eventually overtaken by Saints RB Alvin Kamara who has been red hot as of late.



Finalists:  Marshon Lattimore, Tre’Davious White, Carl Lawson


Winner:  Marshon Lattimore

The Saints rookie will be walking home with some more hardware, as he’ll likely win the Defensive Rookie of the Year unanimously.  Although White and Lawson have been very good this season, nothing they can do the rest of this season will be able to match up with the way Lattimore has shut down opposing WR’s so far.


Coach of the Year

Finalists:  Sean McVay, Doug Pederson, Sean Payton, Doug Marrone


Winner:  Doug Pederson

There are a lot of deserving candidates of the Coach of the Year award, though none moreso than Eagles coach, Doug Pederson.  This off season, Mike Lombardi referred to Pederson as the least qualified head coach he’d ever seen, and to this point, he couldn’t be more wrong.  After leading an Eagles team that was projected to have no more than 9 or 10 wins to a blazing 8-1 start, Doug Pederson is the current leading candidate for Coach of the Year.


Comeback Player of the Year

Finalists:  Jared Goff, Keenan Allen


Winner:  Jared Goff

After being just about universally written off as having potential of being a good NFL Quarterback after his rookie season, Jared Goff has done nothing but prove his doubters wrong.  During the off season, the Rams hired head coach Sean McVay to replace Jeff Fisher, and since then, Goff’s career trajectory has been flipped upside down.  Once labeled a bust, Jared Goff is looking like a very, very good NFL QB, and is currently the Comeback Player of the Year.


Leave a Comment